Chakras and their gemstones – How to open your chakras

Chakras are energy centers within the body which process all activity and information entering and leaving the body. There are seven major chakras, one transpersonal chakra and many minor chakra points. Here we will talk about the seven major chakras. The majority of people can’t see the chakras, but can train themselves to do so. Many healers and people who have developed their psychic abilities can see or sense the chakras, and use this information for healing the body, emotions and spirit. Science has determined that there is a higher electromagnetic output from various parts of the body, directly related to the location of the chakras, bringing respect to the concept of chakras.

They correspond with the colors of the rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and purple, and are associated with the seven ductless glands in the body. Beginning at the base of the spine, they move upward with the last one at the crown of the head.


Color: clear red
Gemstones to strengthen: garnet, ruby, bloodstone, red jasper or agate [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Red Jasper]
Gemstones to tone down: smoky quartz, black tourmaline, onyx or green .

This chakra is situated at the base of the spine and is correlated with our sense of continuity.


Color: orange
Gemstones to strengthen: carnelian, orange coral, orange agate or jasper [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Carnelian].
Gemstones to tone down: sodalite, blue lace agate, blue fluorite [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Lapis Lazuli].
This center is situated on the spine in the lower abdomen. It is correlated with sexuality, mental state, passion, and the natural power to sense things on a psychic level


Color: yellow
Gemstones to strengthen: citrine, golden topaz, amber, sunstone, golden beryl [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Citrine]
Gemstones to tone down: amethyst, light purple fluorite [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Amethyst]

Located at the spine just above the naval, this chakra is correlated with the capability of the mind .


Color: green
Gemstones to strengthen: malachite, aventurine, jade, watermelon or green tourmaline [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Bloodstone]
Gemstones to tone down: rose quartz, pink tourmaline, rhodocrosite [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Rose Quartz]

Placed on the spine, in the range of the heart. This chakra is correlated with our capacity to offer and accept love.


Color: blue
Gemstones to strengthen: turquoise, blue lace agate, aquamarine, celestite, blue topaz, lapis lazuli [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Lapis Lazuli]
Gemstones to tone down: carnelian, orange coral, orange agate or jasper [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Carnelian]

This chakra is situated on the spine in the throat zone, and is correlated with our communicating capacity, artistry.


Color: indigo
Gemstones to strengthen: azurite, lapis lazuli, moonstone, star sapphire, blue sapphire [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Moonstone or Lapis Lazuli]
Gemstones to tone down: yellow-orange citrine, yellowish tiger eye [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Citrine or Tiger’s Eye]

This chakra is situated mid forehead, just upon the eyes, and on the first cervical vertebra of the spine.


Color: violet
Gemstones to strengthen: amethyst, purple fluorite, sugalite [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Amethyst]
Gemstones to tone down: light citrine, golden topaz, light amber [Gemscent: Sun’s Eye Citrine]
This chakra is situated at the top of the head, a little to the back. It is correlated with our our spiritual understanding.

How to open your chakras

By becoming more aware of these seven circular spinning energies in our body, we can recognize when one or more chakras become imbalanced. By staying on top of this, we can experience better health physically, emotionally and spiritually. Regular meditation on the chakras can open your psychic abilities. You begin to trust your intuitive impulses, notice more coincidences, and feel more connected to your true spirit.

You can improve the working level of your chakras by first becoming familiar with the location and colors of these seven major energy centers. Meditation tapes which concentrate on chakra balancing are great tools for becoming more aware of these energies, and for keeping them strong.

Or you could guide yourself through a nice chakra meditation. When in a meditate state, visualize yourself moving through a rainbow and hanging out in each color for awhile as you sense the energy within that certain chakra. For instance, red is associated with the root chakra. Are you normally tired and uninspired, feeling ungrounded and unable to defend your position? Then your root chakra needs to be worked on. While in the red light, imagine a beam of brilliant white light shining on your root chakra (base of spine). Imagine this light dissolving any negativity, black specks, gray areas. Then visualize the chakra spinning (clockwise) and spinning, getting stronger and stronger. I like to visualize a red lotus flower opening up in that area. Now once you get the root chakra energized, you may have to close it up some because too much of this energy can cause aggression. It can really stir up your inner warrior. Just visualize the spinning circle becoming smaller. If you feel you have an overactive root chakra, then you may need to visualize or use a different color to tone it down some. Visualize a green or brown energy coloring your root chakra, or use a green, brown or black stone to tone your root chakra down.

Using gemstones or Gemscents to balance the chakras is very effective. Placing stones or a small dab of Gemscent oil on all the chakras, with the different colors corresponding to the colors of the chakras. When in doubt, just use a clear, quartz crystal. Start with a red stone for the root chakra, orange for the spleen chakra, yellow for the solar plexus chakra, and so on. Make sure you won’t be interrupted, and maintain a nice, relaxed state while the stones are doing their work. Try to keep them on for at least 10 minutes. It’s not a good idea to focus on just one chakra, though, because it can cause it to be overactive, and create an imbalance with the others. You can do concentrated work on a weak chakra, but during the same session, focus on the remaining chakras to maintain a good balance.